People Header.png


The Slonim Great Synagogue Restoration Campaign is run by a Steering Committee, a special purpose subcommittee of the Foundation for Jewish Heritage. The Steering Committee is advised by experts on heritage conservation internationally and in Belarus. Additionally, a Technical Subcommittee advises on design and procurement.

Steering Committee

David Bearman

Founding Partner of Firefly Capital

and a Trustee of the Foundation for

Jewish Heritage

Simon Kaplinsky


Engineer and project manager with

family links to Slonim

Michael Mail

Chief Executive of the

Foundation for Jewish Heritage

Ezra Mehlman

Healthcare investor and professor at

Columbia University Business School,

with family links to Slonim

Tszwai So

Director of award-winning

Spheron Architects

Derek Spitz

A commercial barrister with

international experience

David Webster

Communications professional with

extensive experience in Central and

Eastern Europe

Technical Subcommittee

Ian Angus


Carden & Godfrey Architects

Simon Kaplinsky


MSC C.Eng MIStructE.

Retired engineer, previously

Director of PRP Architects

Deborah Lazarus

MA (Cantab) CEng FIStructE

FICE FRSA. Recently retired from ARUP

Tszwai So

MA (Cantab), RIBA. Designer of Belarusian Memorial Chapel in London

Christoper Young

MA (Oxon), World Heritage Consultant

Former Head - International Advice, English Heritage

Special Advisors

Dr Sergey Kravstov

Senior Research Associate,

Center for Jewish Art,

Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Vladimir Levin


Center for Jewish Art,

Hebrew University of Jerusalem


Fionna Gibb OBE

Former HM Ambassador to Belarus

Rt Hon Dame Margaret Hodge MP

Former UK Minister of State

Natasha Kaplinksy OBE

TV presenter and journalist

Zvi Shefet

Chairman, Slonim Jewish Association

in Israel

Agenda Light 5E Blend 200.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

The Slonim Synagogue Restoration Campaign is a project of


© 2021 Foundation for Jewish Heritage